Select Page

Nada means sound and yoga means union. Nada yoga is the part of yoga where individual’s mind is unified with the cosmic consciousness through the flow of sounds. The theory of nada states all creatures of the cosmos consists sound vibration, called nada. According to Nada yoga, the building block of the universe is moving sound energy rather than matter and particles. The universe is the projection of sound alone.

The nada Yogi believes that one eternal sound has created all five elements, five sense organs, five work organs, the fourfold mind, and the three gunas. Therefore they have the belief that a single divine sound is the creator of every seen and unseen things. The entire cosmos is a creation of that sound. Nada Yoga is the way to access and according to sound. The way of attaining the Samadhi through sound is called Nada Yoga.

Sound plays an important role to achieve a deeper combination with both outer and inner cosmos. The vibration of sound or music is also used to remove the problematic psychological and spiritual condition. It also removes the obstruction in the individual consciousness. These sound vibrations clean the barriers for Samadhi path.  Actually, Samadhi is the state of pure awareness which transcends mind and body.

In this phase one discovers knowledge about body and world, emotional and cognitive intelligence and then an expansion of Atma (soul) into Nada or Shabda Brahma (God of Sound or word). Beyond it, there comes the experience of the Nirgun Brahma or pure consciousness. The practitioner remains on the witness stage.

All the parts of human body produce the sound. These body parts want to react and communicate with the sound of cosmos. They try to unify with the divine sound. But due to our busy lifestyle, we are unable to separate time to unify with the divine sound or Nada. As we practice to identify and hear the nada then our goal to the final destination will be successful.

The center of Nada is a matter of experience. Different types of practitioners trying to find the center of nada in different places of the body. Transcendental nada is said to be situated in the different centers. A devotee (Bhakata) of god tries to get his lord in Anahata Chakra. A meditator of the third eye tries to find the center of the institution in the Ajna chakra.

Some other meditator and Vedantins try to find the center of Hiranyagarbha in Sahasrara chakra (center of a skull). Similarly, Nada Yogis set the center of nada in Bindu. The Bindu is yet to be discovered. There is a center where inaudible, continuous, unbroken, eternal and unbeaten sound rolls on. That center is called Bindu. Therefore to discover the nada one has to find the Bindu primarily and finally.

Nada is expressed in two parts: Ahad Nada (sound produced by striking two objects) and Anahad Nada (self-produced sound). Ahad Nada is also expressed external music and Anahad Nada is expressed internal music.  For example sound of clap is produced by striking two palms. So this sound is called Ahad Nada. The aim of Nada is to take Ahad to Anahad. Ahad is external aspects and Anahad is internal aspects. First Nada is created and unify the mind with the Nada.

As the practice becomes perfect, it takes to Anahad. “Aum” chanting is one of the best sounds for this work. Aum is the primal sound and uncreated vibration through which the universe is created. It is also the sound of the sun. Aum is the seed of all other sounds. The Anahad sound is heard at Anahat (heart) Chakra. From subatomic particles to bacteria and worms, from earth and moon to entire solar system, everything has their own sound and music.

Distant galaxy, newborn stars, black holes etc all have their sounds. The entire universe hums with its sound frequency. As we also hum with a frequency of universe, we unite with it and transform from Ahad to Anahad. This process is known as Nada Yoga.

Besides, there are four types of Nada Yoga

Para Nada

It is transcendent sound. It is beyond the access of sense organ and mind. It reveals the truth that sound is heard in the different dimensions in the sphere of super consciousness.


The second stage of nada is subconscious sound. It has less frequency and more gross than para. Pashyanti is a Sanskrit word which means “that can be visualized or seen.” In a dream, sound can be perceived. The dream is neither conscious nor semi-conscious. But it is the part of the sub-conscious mind.


It is mental sound. It has lower frequencies than para and pashyanti. It is subtler than audible Vailkari.


It is spoken a sound, so it is audible to the ears. It is producible by friction or by striking two things against one another.

As we practice nada yoga it heals the body, recovers mind and balances the person to become a fully functional person. It also works as therapy to lead a healthy life. It gives peace to mind, body, and soul. It improves concentration power and thinking capacity. It reduces anger, fear, anxiety, aggressiveness, etc. It creates an environment of joy, peace, and harmony. It refreshes whole mind and body and helps to live every moment to the fullest every day.

Steps for practicing Nada Yoga

  • Choose a peace and clean place to practice Nada Yoga.
  • Sit down on a mat in a comfortable pose- sukhasana, Vajrasana, siddhasana, padmasana, ardha-padmasana etc.
  • With closed eyes, concentrate on breathing. Try to make the breath long and deep.

After doing this, there are varieties of ways for the practice of nada. We can practice anyone ways as we like:

Way no 1) Play a soothing, serene and divine sound. Focus and concentrate on it. Immerse yourself deeper and deeper with the sound. Then slowly shift the focus inwards to the inner and subtle sound. Remain in this state as much as you can. Practice it regularly.

Way no 2) Chant “Aum” for about 5 minutes. Then try to listen to it within the body. The internal listening process can be done up to an hour in one sit.

Way no 3) Practice Bhramari Pranayama for about five minutes. Then remain quite. Now with just closed ears try to listen internal sound. Remain in this pose for ten minutes or longer.

You may like some other types of Yoga: Hatha Yoga, Kundalini Yoga, Tantra Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga, Restorative Yoga, Sivananda Yoga