Select Page

The Sanskrit term chakra means ‘wheel’, ‘circle’ and ‘cycle’. In other words, the chakra is energy center that exists in the subtle body. It has not any shape rather it is the psycho-spiritual energy center. In our body, the existence of chakras is numerous. However, the major chakras are perceived to be seven in our body.

Mooladhara Chakra

Mooladhara Chakra is situated at the base of the spine i.e. the perineum in the male and the cervix in the female body.  The word mooladhara was constructed with two words Mool which mean ‘root’ and Adhara means ‘place’ thus the place of the root is Mooladhara.  The seed mantra is Lam. The color of the chakra is red with four lotus petals. The representative element is the earth. The Shakti is Dakini whereas the deity is Ganesh.

The predominant characteristics of Mooladhara Chakra are instinct, survival, basic human needs. The gonads are the part of endocrine system situated in this area which is accountable for ‘fight’ or ‘flight’ movement to any situation.

Physical level Mooladhara Chakra rules sexuality. Mentally it administers stability. Emotionally it oversees sensuality and spiritually it supervises a sense of security. It is also the representation of the physical body.

Swadisthana Chakra

The Sanskrit word ‘Swadisthan’ means ‘one’s own abode’. The state of being control of oneself is Swadisthana. The chakra is the representation of the emotional or etheric body. It is located below the navel and about two fingers width above the Mooladhara chakra. It has six lotus petals with orange or crimson color.  This chakra represents the water element. The Shakti is Rakini (Chakini). The deity is Brahma and the seed mantra is Vam.

The prevalent features of Swadisthana Chakra are relationships, violence, addictions, basic emotional needs, and pleasure. It is located in the sacrum which links to the sex hormones which work for the reproductive cycle. This is also considered as the center of death.

On physical level Swadisthana Chakra manages reproduction, mentally it rules creativity, emotionally it governs joy, and spiritually it rules enthusiasm.

Manipura Chakra

The word Manipura is the union of two word Mani which means ‘jewel’ and ‘pura’ means ‘city’. Thus ‘the city of jewel’ is Manipura. This chakra is the representation of the astral body.  It is located above the navel, below the ribcage. Having also the name ‘solar plexus’ chakra, it is located in the plexus area.  It has gotten yellow louts petals with the element fire. The Shakti is Lakini. The deity is Bradda Rudra. The seed mantra is Ram. The adrenaline glands and pancreas are in Manipura Chakra which supports the metabolism and digestive system. This chakra represents the fire element.

The dominant issues of Manipura Chakra are the matters of personal power, fear, anxiety, and introversion. Physical level Manipura governs digestion. Mentally it rules personal power. Emotionally it administers expansiveness and spiritually it covers all matters of growth.

It has two qualities: doubt and thinking on the one hand. On the other trust and discrimination.  This is also the center of peace.


Anahata means ‘unstruck’. It is located in the center of the chest.  It has twelve lotus petals with green color. It symbolizes the wind element. It is the symbol of a psychic body.  The seed mantra of Anahata chakra is Yam whereas the reigning deity is Ishana Rudra Shiva. The Shakti is Kakini.

Thymus gland as a part of an endocrine system is located at Anahata Chakra which helps to defend the disease and work as the stress relief mechanism. Anahata chakra has some significant issues such as complex of emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, equilibrium, rejection, and well-being. It includes two qualities of imagination and dreams on the one hand. On the other, determination and vision are the qualities. It is also the center of love.

On physical level Anahata runs circulation, emotionally it manages unconditional love for the self and to the world. Mental level it rules passion, and spiritually it governs devotion.

Visuddhi Chakra

Visuddhi means completely pure. In a larger sense, it means purification of the self to lead into the path to unite with supreme self. It is located at throat area because of why it is also called ‘throat chakra’. It has 16 lotus petals of blue color. It signifies ether or space element. The seed mantra of Visuddhi Chakra is Ham. The governing deity is Panchabhakta Shiva. The Shakti is Shakini.

This also is believed to be the state where duality ends. It is also conceived as the bridge between lower chakras and the upper chakras. The leading subjects of Visuddhi Chakra are communication and expression. It is also the center of silence. The thyroid gland is located in this chakra which discharges the thyroid hormone prerequisite for growth and maturity.

On a physical level, this chakra works communication. Emotionally it rules independence. Furthermore, mentally it manages eloquence of the thought, and spiritually it creates a sense of security.


Ajna means command. The Ajna Chakra is located in the center of the forehead above between two eyebrows. This is also called the third eye.  It has 2 petals of lotus with violet color. It is conceived that the Ida and Pingala unite here and merges into Sushumna, the central energy channel. The element of this chakra is mind. The ruling deity is Ardhanarisvara. The Shakti is Hakini.  The seed mantra is Om. This is also the symbol of cosmic body.

The activation of the Ajna Chakra opens the journey of the upper realm of awareness.  It is also the center of light.  Ajna Chakras major issues include balancing the higher and lower selves and unquestioning innermost regulation. The activation of Ajna chakra develops the intuition.

 On mental level Ajna concerns on visual consciousness. Emotionally, it develops the clarity on an intuitive level. This chakra also is related to the pineal gland which secretes the melatonin hormone which is essential for waking up and sleeping. This is the center of light.


The Sanskrit word Sahasrara means ‘one thousand’. It is situated in the crown of the head. Thus it also called Crown Chakra. It is the dwelling of highest consciousness.  It has one thousand petals of a lotus with white color.  This is the state where the union of Shiva and Shakti occurs. The merging state of the individual self with supreme self.  The presiding deity is Dhruva. This is the center of divinity.

The pituitary gland located at the Sahasrara Chakra releases the hormone essential for the connection to the rest of the endocrine system and to a central nervous system by the support of the hypothalamus. Sahasrara’s internal aspect concerns on the freedom of karma. Physical aspect concentrates on meditation. The mental role focuses on universal mindfulness.

Finally, All chakras in our body must be balanced, if any of them starts to malfunction, our body shows different problems. It depends on which chakras is impure. Kundalini meditation is very effective to awaken the chakras in our body.